My Town
Close Panel

Pedestrian Bike & Safety Committee

Contact Information:

 Pedestrian and Bike Safety Committee Members: 

Appointed by the Board of Selectmen: 
Michael Kraft, Chairman
Steven Olanoff, Vice Chairman
Heather Ford
Brian Gorman

Enkelejda (Kela) Klosi
George Lester
Kate Wynne

Ex Officio Members:
Michael Jaillet, Town Administrator
Todd Korchin, Public Works Director
Abigail McCabe, Town Planner

The Committee meets on the fourth Thursday of each month at 7:30 pm at 50 Carby Street. Check the meeting events calendar on the homepage for to confirm exact time, location, and agenda. All meetings are open to the public.

The Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety Committee was created by the Board of Selectmen to help make Westwood a more “walkable” and “bikeable” community by engaging residents and Town departments in a sustainable and ongoing process of identifying needs, designing solutions and implementing improvements. The Committee continues its commitment by researching ideas on how to encourage walking and biking by consulting with neighboring towns, attending presentations from local agencies, meeting with our own Public Works Department, and seeking input from Westwood residents. 

Complete Streets

The Committee worked closely with the Department of Public Works to draft a Complete Streets Policy.  A Complete Street is one that provides safe and accessible options for everyone.  The Board of Selectmen adopted a Complete Streets Policy in September 2015 and Westwood became an official Complete Streets community in 2016 after Town Meeting approval.  A list of current projects funded through the Complete Streets MassDOT Program is available here and a list of projects that could be submitted for funding in a future program-round have been identified in a Prioritization Plan.  As Complete Streets community, a map showing the existing infrastructure has been created and a map of priority projects.

To stay informed of meetings and issues related to Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety, please Sign up for Email Notifications of Committee Meetings